Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Edward R. Murrow College of Communication

Hall of Achievement Award

“I’ve seen your alums in action: in front of the camera, behind the camera, writing, on the radio. You guys are as powerful as anyone in the country.” —Pat Chun, WSU Director of Athletics

Every year, the Hall of Achievement at the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication honors and recognizes outstanding accomplishments of alumni and those impacting the Murrow community. In 2023, Murrow College will broaden this recognition to include a service category in addition to our alumni awards.

The deadline this year is October 31, 2023, to submit nominations for induction into the Hall of Achievement during the 48th Annual Murrow Symposium on April 3-4, 2024. With few exceptions, we expect inductees to attend the Murrow Symposium in person to be presented with their award.

For Murrow alumni, Hall of Achievement recognizes graduates who have made a significant contribution to a specific field or industry, community service, involvement with Murrow College (since graduation, currently or for a period of time). For the service award, Murrow recognizes individuals who have made a meaningful and deep contribution to the Murrow Community, creating a legacy of impact and inspiration.

If you are interested in submitting a nomination, please complete this survey. Additional materials may be submitted, and questions sent to Murrow College’s Senior Director of Development April Johnson at Additional letters of support are encouraged.

Congratulations to the Hall of Achievement Class of 2024!

Past Hall of Achievement Recipients

Eric Johnson
A television news anchor, sports director and news and feature reporter at various Northwest television stations, including the last 20 years at KOMO-TV in Seattle. Read more Advisory Board, Hall of Achievement, Our Alumni
Jerry Isenhart Headshot
Jerry Isenhart
Owner/General Manager, Northcentral Broadcasting Co. (1969-1999) Owner/Founder, (2001-2014) Read more Hall of Achievement
Kathy Brock
An award winning television journalist and news anchor in one of the nation’s biggest and toughest markets. She is dedicated to supporting the women and children of her adopted home of Chicago.   Read more Hall of Achievement, Our Alumni
Jeri McDonald
Dedicated to the nonprofits and arts organizations of Seattle and for her dedicated work as a graduate and advocate of WSU Read more Hall of Achievement, Our Alumni
Richard J. Warsinske
Public and commercial television broadcasting producer, director, manager, lobbyist and web service visionary. Read more Hall of Achievement, Our Alumni
Mike Shepard
President of the Seattle Times Washington Affiliate Newspapers and publisher of the Yakima Herald-Republic Read more Hall of Achievement, Our Alumni
Kay Wight
Kay J. Wight
A business executive and civic leader in the dynamic public, private and nonprofit sectors of New York City. Read more Hall of Achievement