WSU students won top awards for best television newscast, daily newspaper, online reporting, photography, sports reporting, news reporting, videography, and editorial cartooning, among other awards. The Daily Evergreen – an independent student organization – won four first-place awards, and Murrow 8’s newscast won three first-place awards. Students in the Murrow College’s Backpack Journalism Program received two first-place awards for their reporting from Argentina.

“These awards are a testament to the incredible work of student journalists at Washington State University, both within the Murrow College and across the university,” said Ben Shors, chair of the Journalism and Media Production Department in the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at WSU.

The Daily Evergreen won six awards for its daily publication. “The Evergreen staff works long hours on top of their classes to produce content for one of the last daily student newspapers,” said Luke Hudson, the paper’s editor in chief. “We are honored to be recognized for those efforts and look forward to the national results.”

WSU students compete in SPJ’s Region 10, which includes Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. The winners will move on to SPJ’s national Mark of Excellence competition.

Washington State University winners:
Editorial Cartooning: (Large) 10,000+ students: Nick Sandifer
General News Photography: (Large) 10,000+ students: Paige Campbell
Sports Photography: (Large) 10,000+ students: Abby Linnenkohl
Online News Reporting: Luke Hollister, Shannon Heckt, Jacob Grannemann, Cody Cottier
Best All-Around Television News Magazine: Bradley Warren, Jasmine Darakjy, Taylor Swanson, Emma Jerome
Television General News Reporting: Zachary Anders
Television Sports Reporting: Brady Frederick
Broadcast News Videography: Jacob Grannemann
Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper: Staff of the Daily Evergreen

Washington State University finalists:
Sports Photography: (Large) 10,000+ students: Benjamin Michaelis
Breaking News Reporting: (Large) 10,000+ students: Madysen McLain
Online News Reporting: Rebecca White, Shannon Heckt
Television General News Reporting: Brady Frederick
Television In-Depth Reporting: Jasmine Darakjy
Television Sports Reporting: Shannon Heckt