The distributions from this fund shall be used to support a high achieving Edward R. Murrow College of Communication junior undergraduate majoring in journalism (this includes all forms of journalism, i.e. broadcast news, multi platform news, journalism, etc.) who demonstrates leadership qualities through evidence of theirs hands on work done through a variety of avenues with could include: Northwest Public Media, Cable Eight News and Production, KUGR, and other news outlets. The student will show a commitment to enter news and journalism as a vocation.

Preference will be given to funding a student who has applied for or has been granted an internship between their junior or senior year. Preference will also be given first to a student who has applied for or has been granted an internship with Fisher Communication’s KOMO-TV.


Kathi said, “WSU played a great role in who I became as a journalist and as a person.” Her intention with this award is to enable emerging leaders in the journalism industry who have a great passion for the ethics of Edward R. Murrow to gain market experience. As a junior at WSU, Kathi was selected as the top female student in the Murrow Department with the Kay Wright Exemplary award. This award enabled her to intern at KOMO News, where she has spent her entire career in journalism. She was the legislative reporter before becoming a news anchor in 1982. Kathi has earned a number of awards for excellence in broadcast journalism, including five Emmys and an Edward R. Murrow Award. Throughout her career, she’s been active in the community, serving on the boards of the YWCA and Children’s Hospital Foundation. Kathi served on the Washington State University Board of Governors and was a key volunteer with the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication.