Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Murrow Center for Media and Health Promotion Research

The Murrow Center for Media & Health Promotion Research in the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at Washington State University examines how people use media messages in their decisions about health, and how health promotion practitioners can maximize the effectiveness of health messages targeting young people and their families. Our work is intended to help individuals and health professionals use media most effectively to facilitate informed and healthy decisions.

About the center

We Are an Interdisciplinary Group of Scholars

The Murrow Center is comprised of faculty and students from Communication, Prevention Science, Human Development, and Nutrition. Center faculty are top-ranked nationally by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship for research on advertising effects, substance abuse prevention, and media literacy. Faculty are also ranked as members of a top 10 communication program for research focused on media and children, methodology, and media and sexuality. Center faculty have also been awarded a number of federal, state, and private grants.

We Serve as A Research Training Center for Students

Our graduate students benefit from hands-on, mentored research training that prepares them to successfully perform in research-intensive academic or industry positions. Students regularly meet with Center faculty to gain insight on the research process. Through their participation in a variety of research projects, students gain research skills that have tangible value in academic and professional industries. Graduate students also often coauthor conference papers and refereed journal articles with expert faculty.

Our Research Areas are Aimed to Meet Grand Challenges

 

  • Media Effects and Strategies to Prevent Alcohol and Drug Abuse
  • Use of Media to Reduce Sexual Assault and Promote Healthy Sexual Relationships
  • Digital Media, Health and Well-Being
  • Parent-child communication about media and health
  • Media Literacy to Promote Healthy Decision Making

 

Directors:

  • Erica Austin – Founding Director
  • Stacey J.T. Hust – Associate Director

Related Faculty:

  • Rachel Bailey
  • Porismita Borah
  • Amanda Boyd
  • Douglas Blanks Hindman
  • Yoon-Joo Lee
  • Bruce Pinkleton
  • Alexis Tan
  • Jessica Willoughby

 

Contact our team

Murrow Center for Media & Health Promotion
Goertzen 250
PO Box 642520
Pullman WA 99164-2520
Murrow Center Central Number: 509-335-3660
Email: murrow.center@wsu.edu

Center Office Graduate Assistants
Jason Wheeler jdwheeler@wsu.edu 509-335-3660
Davi Kallman davi.kallman@wsu.edu 509-335-3659
Whitney Stefani whitney.stefani@wsu.edu 509-335-3658
Nicole O’Donnell nicole.odonnell@wsu.edu 509-335-3658
C. Kit Kaiser c.kit.kaiser@wsu.edu 509-335-3658

Administration
Erica Austin (Founding Director) eaustin@wsu.edu 509-335-5581
Stacey Hust (Associate Director) sjhust@wsu.edu 509-335-3696

Project Specialist
Michelle Kistler kistler@wsu.edu 509-335-3658